top of page
Writer's pictureAnne

Day 2 - East Highland Way Kingussie to Spay Dam - a long day with a heavy pack

June 16 -

Had full Scottish experience today from haggis for breakfast to trudging through a Scottish moor in the rain for 6 hours- got bogged down- literally and figuratively. At least didn’t get sucked into the mud. Had to cross three rivers without bridges- one was so deep had to change into sandels (although boots were soaked due to incessant rain) Stopped at deer stalkers hut to change socks and dry off. Met two fellow hikers who gave me idea where to camp and for better onward route so I didn’t need to continue through the bog.- suggested Spey dam. Rain finally stopped and sun cam out- dried off a bit. Camped in a parking lot as was closer to water, flat and dry; no internet or phone connectivity.

Earlier in day met with my several donators at breakfast and did a publicly photo. Claudia said she would try to do some PR for my journey.

Route was not terribly memorable for scenery. Beautiful more near Newtonmore. Saw Cluny Castle which had an interesting cemetery. Walked near sheep that were free ranging on the public road- one wonders how they are aren’t hit by cars.

Backup pair of socks are wet- wore to bed to dry out. Mildew is becoming concern and need to understand how I can address it.

Trying to eat a pound of food a day to lighten load- that’s a dry sealed pouch of “add water” camping meal, a few cliff bars and trail mix each day. Cheesy enchiladas were totally uninspiring and couldn’t finish it. Couldn’t find my spoon so had to squeeze it from pouch. (Added reminder- must find spoon)

After trudging through the bog was really looking forward to getting the Scottish version of Irish coffee at a pub in Laggan only to find out there was no pub in Laggan- very disappointing. Only public bathroom with a mural. Didn’t have to go to the bathroom at that point.

Another interesting point is that I am too large (fat) to get through most field gates. I wish I had a picture when I tried to get through the swinging gate and got stuck - I was about an inch too big for the gate to swing so I could get through. I ended up having to climb that fence, which was no easy feat with all that weight on my back!

Camped at Spey Dam. Windy and had to weigh tent with rocks so it would blow away. At least wind means no bugs.

Got some water at the dam and it looks completely disgusting. Hope I don’t need to use it and glad I brought my water pills.

Slept through some rain and a lot of wind- dreamt the tent was getting blown away with me in it.

11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page