top of page
Writer's pictureAnne

Packing

Updated: May 27, 2018

Packing was not a small consideration, given I was leaving for two months and had to carry everything with me

This is the "finished" picture, but it took a lot of planning to get there


Before...

I had to do advance planning to make sure things I couldn't bring in the plane's cargo hold were already in England.

My full final list of what to pack is too long to add here, but the main sections include: pharmacy/first aid, hardware/repair, electronics, clothing, food/kitchen, toilet, cleaning/shower, shelter/bedding, lighting, and security. I also had to plan in terms of what I could bring over by plane vs. what I need to buy locally (e.g. my stove, fuel, and matches I would have to buy locally and not be able to bring over in the plane's cargo hold).


Before....All the stuff that I need to get into my pack



Shipping it to Europe - the "after" packing shot

After I get it all in the backpack, it needs to be in a suitable form to go into checked luggage on the plane, as I won't be able to get a 50 pound pack in the overhead bin:) I purchased a special bag made especially for this and was amazed that the entire pack, including the externally strapped items, like my tent, fit!



My Mascot: MacCoineanach and raising donations

Pronounced Mac-Con-yannock

I have to have a mascot to help me in my journey. I'd like to introduce my bunny partner MacCoineanach, pronounced Mac-Con-yannock. She will be motivating me in those difficult times and agreed to come with me for carrots. She is wrapped in her sleeping bag made of the Scottish Alzheimer's tartan. #alzscot



11 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page