top of page
Writer's pictureAnne

Reached end of John O’Groats Trail- 350 miles

July 6- to John O’Groats and finish. Just as I got the tent half packed it started to rain and the midges came out. I quickly got everything else packed and moved to get away from the

Midges. I was looking for the road to avoid the worst part of the trail, but there was no road to a99. I went overland and wriggled under more barbed wire- felt like I was in basic training. Took the road around to Skirza and joined back in the trail. Along the way I met some very friendly cows who kept watching me and following me. Once back on the trail, Things were as boggy as I’ve seen them- managed to avoid getting my foot sucked in and slowly worked through the next mile of bog. The way improved and I could see John o’Groats but my body was done- exhausted. The last miles was awful- despite seeing more seals hauled out and one periscoping people on the beach. Finally made it and got my picture take. By a motorcyclist from Greece. Glad this trail is finished- have covered about 350 miles up to now ( forgot the walks to MacDui do e earlier when I wrote 335 on Facebook)


6 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page