top of page
Writer's pictureAnne

Day 2 - GGW - Took the high road and saw the bonnie bonnie banks!

June 20-Day 2 on the Great Glen Way from Laggan to Invermoreston. This was the best day I’ve had on this trip and is what I thought all the days would be like. Walking along the Catalonia Canal meant being able to watch several of the locks being put in action. Also saw the Oiks Bridge, a cantilever bridge built after a flood destroyed another.

Walked along the canal and the sun finally came out. For the first time I took my rain coat off and enjoyed hiking in the sun. I made it to Fort Augustus by lunch and had a pub lunch: chicken curry, cider, ice cream - was wonderful.

From there continued to Invermoreston by taking the high road along the banks of Loch Lomond and seeing the wonderful scenery. At the top I could see all the way back to my starting point at Laggan! I thought the elevation gain would have stopped from there, but the trail followed the contour of the hills and there were several more elevation gains to come. Finally came down towards Invermoreston and it was very steep. Didn’t fall, but was glad to be on level ground as i got to my hotel for the night.

2 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page