top of page
Writer's pictureAnne

John O’Groates Day 1 - mental battle leaving Inverness

June 25 - Inverness to Culbokie

I can’t emphasize enough how difficult it was mentally to leave Inverness. I was scared - scared that I didn’t have an offline map, scared that the route was new, scared that it was too hard, scared that I couldn’t make it. I met someone in Waterstone’s who told me an option using a downloadable app and GPS, but my in app purchases also weren’t working. I decided to take one problem at a time and not think ahead. I had now special barbed wire gloves, an extra mat to put over barbed wire fences and decided to take one problem at a time.

Leaving Inverness I was able to see Sea Lions, no dolphins, at Mornay Firth. Was really scared about getting through the fence to cross the bridge. The middle wire was cut out and when I tried to duck through I managed to snag my drop cloth - finally releasing it after pulling out a piece of the ground cloth. I ended up having to take off my backpack and pushing it through, then pushing myself through. I realized later that I also snagged my pants and now have a hole in them.

Once I got on the bridge, was really enjoyable to walk in the breeze along the walkway. Still no dolphins.

Was really nice that all the first day was marked - made me feel much more comfortable as I didn’t get lost. Heard shots of farmers culling the deer. Saw a Kite bird which was pretty awesome.

Found a great place to camp just outside of Culbokie. Seems it was set up for something else, as there were cut trees, places to sit, and a very soft area to camp. not many bugs either!. Haven’t seen any long distance walkers today


5 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page