top of page
Writer's pictureAnne

Navigation failure meant schedule change

July 2- my plan is screwed. I woke up with the sun to find my phone with all my navigation would not work- it was charged but it would not turn on. My only option was to try to get it repaired in wick. I pack up and walk back to Berriedale on the A9 and go to the bus stop I saw there and waited for the x99 bus. Without a phone I had no idea if the

Bus ran on Monday’s, what time it ran, or even what time it was, as I didn’t have a watch. Finally I just stuck my thumb out like Cheryl Strayed in the book “wild” and eventually a man stopped and he took me to wick via thurso. He was a foreman on an electricity project who had been up and driving since 2am... I was lucky that he didn’t fall asleep at the wheel, but a kinder man you wouldn’t meet. He told me about Dave at the Whaligoe steps- he watches the place- and said I really should try to go. He dropped me at the Tesco and they were able to fix my phone! I bought a second phone as backup....I decided to try to backtrack to catch the two days scenery I would miss if I stayed in Wick. I was so exhausted I passed out at 7pm and slept for 12 hours.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page