top of page
Writer's pictureAnne

Up close and personal with Highland Cows

June 28-Dornoch to Golspie- thank you to Ian at royal Dornoch golf club for offering me coffee and shaking my hand, the farmer who showed me a better route and the lady who owns the apt I’m in tonight for taking my pack to Brora so I can walk along the sea tomorrow. Weather is so hot- I think I’m still in California-86 today - glad I brought my down coat....I met my first

Long distance hikers on the trail- he’s just finishing up lands end to JOT- will be finishing in 5 days. Looking at the bus schedules between John o’ Groats and cape wrath, I may need to push harder to get there by Friday to catch a Saturday bus... I saw harbor seals as I was walking along the Loch Fleet. The promised bogginess never appeared but it was an interesting forest trek where the path was highly overgrown- without a breeze it was quite breathless. The route took me through a pasture with highland cows with very long horns. The cows were right on the track and I was truly afraid I was going to be attached and gored- especially because there were calves in the group. A bit later I got rushed by a group of cows - and quickly climbed a fence as they came after me. The farmer said they were merely curious:)



6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page